Wah, wah, wah…

It’s hard to believe that Richmond Baby will be 8 weeks old on Monday – time flies!  I have had to pack away the newborn clothes and now she’s firmly in 0-3 months, going on 3-6 months attire rapidly.  And since “b-day” it’s been an intense but wonderful period of “getting to know you” on both parts.

8 weeks on and what have I learnt?  well, that it’s true, all cries are not the same – there’s a cry for “I’m hungry”; a cry for “why are you trying to wrestle me into this babygro?!?”; another for “I’m weary get me to a calm, dark place and sing me a soothing rendition of Cecelia; another still for “don’t put me down, I want cuddles”; another for “my butt is wet…” – and gradually I am learning to figure out which means what, mainly by process of elimination, but it certainly helps to have a mental checklist and that’s where I have to thank “The Baby Whisperer”…

My best friend lent me a copy of Tracy Hogg’s Baby Whisperer book, saying she found it incredibly useful and I have to say, it makes a hell of a lot of sense!  There are some bits that while no doubt probably effective, I haven’t gone in for – for example, introducing your baby room by room to the house on your return from hospital and the like.  But overall, it is a great guide in particular to understanding just what it is your baby is trying to tell you in their own inimitable way – namely crying, but also other physical signs and clues.

On the subject of crying, Tracy talks about it as your baby’s way of talking to you, which I found has helped reassure me that crying doesn’t equal baby in emotional and physical turmoil, it means “listen to me I’m trying to tell you something”.  In the early weeks, the crying really upset me, but now – while, don’t get me wrong, I don’t enjoy it – I can see it more as baby talk, her way of telling me something and on the whole once I’ve managed to figure out what it might be, she stops.  Magic.  Of course a dummy also helps – but really only if I’ve managed to also figure out the reason behind the crying in the first place. On the subject of dummies, the Baby Whisperer is actually reassuringly supportive, highlighting they help satisfy a baby’s inherent need to self-soothe by sucking – so hooray for the dummy! She also reassures on thumb sucking, which is another thing that Richmond Baby has progressed to in recent weeks.  According to Tracy, thumb sucking does not lead to buck teeth as legend would have it and does in fact give baby it’s first taste of control over it’s otherwise flailing limbs.  Bravo baby.

I’m still working my way through the book – finding the time to read (and blog it would seem) can be tricky – and have much much more to learn, but for any new mum I would highly recommend giving it a look.  I’m finding it to be a good practical but also realistic and gentle guide and a more relaxed approach than Gina (which I did find helpful in getting a basic routine started, but it can be a bit unforgiving).

Secrets of the Baby Whisperer, Tracy Hogg with Melinda Blau:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Secrets-Baby-Whisperer-Connect-Communicate/dp/0091857023

3 thoughts on “Wah, wah, wah…

  1. Anonymous said…
    I thought this book was brilliant. It certainly helped me for the 1st 2 and I need to get hold of it again. It made a lot of sense and gives a format for a routine but not rigid like old Gina.

    Am glad things are going well.

    Lots of Love AM

  2. Both mine used dummies. The youngest would have preferred his thumb but he had severe eczema so he had socks on his hands most of the time to stop him scratching so we had to persuade him the dummy was ok. The oldest decided when the youngest came along that she didn’t need dummies anymore and put them in the bin and the youngest gave them to Santa when he was 2 1/2.

    My husband used to call it ‘giving them a service’ when we were trying to work out why they were crying. Start with the nappy and work your way through the list until you get to the right one. Invariably they needed changing again in the end 🙂

  3. Love the Baby Whisperer! I also have the more concise BW book on sleep which was a life-changer when things all went pear-shaped nap-wise. Shout if you want to borrow.
    x

I love comments, so make my day!

