HOTPANTS™: An update

Okay, so as some of you will know, I have taken up the challenge to lose some if not all (ahem, maybe ambitious) of my baby weight by sweating it out in HOTPANTS™.  For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, have a quick read of this… okay, all done? now we’re all up to speed.

So, I haven’t actually made room in my life for proper exercise.  In between looking after baby, looking after the cat, looking after the house, looking after the husband, and kind of looking after me (pretty much in that order), popping off to the gym or having a run around the park is laughably unrealistic.  Hence, I have had to make do with wearing my HOTPANTS™ just during everyday whizzing about and sometimes in bed, asleep.

Last week, the first week of my challenge, I wore them every single day for somewhere in between 4 and 8 hours a day.  A couple of nights I wore them to bed and slept in them (Richmond Daddy was not overly impressed by this, but regardless I persevered).  While I wasn’t attending spinning classes or zumba-ing and the like, I did try to power-walk everywhere I went and run up and down the stairs and reach and stretch that extra bit when busying around the house doing chores etc.

I think having the HOTPANTS™ on did also make me think twice about scoffing chocolate hob nobs and drinking wine, so I probably ate more healthily overall: although at the weekend I did scoff a few cakes at the Richmond NCT Cheeky Monkeys Tea Party, but that was for charity, so it doesn’t count.  Ahem.

In case you’re wondering, the HOTPANTS™ are actually pretty comfy and easy to wear under your normal clothes.  Even on the really hot days we had last week I was able to wear them and march about in them without passing out in the heat.  I didn’t feel sweaty in them but when I peeled them off I realised I was pretty sweaty (ugh, sorry, bit gross, but I want to give an honest account of my experience!).  I also found that when wearing them I drank a lot more water as I felt a lot thirstier than usual and consequently went to the loo more frequently!

Right, so the update you’ve all been waiting for, one week on and what are the results?!?

1) I appear to have lost 1lb.  Not exactly setting the world on fire, but it’s a loss none the less and given that I haven’t really drastically changed my diet or exercise routine, I probably couldn’t really expect miracles.

2) My stomach definitely appears to be flatter than it was.  I didn’t take my measurements at the start so can’t compare them before/after, but I do feel that my tummy is more streamlined that it was a week ago and I’m able to get into my pre pregnancy trousers with a lot more ease than previously, which is great.

3) My skin on tummy/bum/thighs feels amazingly smooth and soft.  I can’t entirely understand why this may be as a result of the HOTPANTS™ but I have read reports from other bloggers that they are experiencing the same thing.  Either way, this is a positive!

All in all, while I would have liked to have seen more weight loss, at least I am heading in the right direction.  After not wearing them at all yesterday (because I was a bit cross about not really having lost anything majorly of note), I did wear them overnight last night and for most of today and I’m going to keep at it to see what results a second week of wear may bring.

In the meantime, if you fancy giving them a go, you can purchase a pair direct from this website for £44.99 and if you use my unique voucher code – BIANCACOX – you’ll get 10% off at checkout (and I will get £4 for every pair sold).

6 thoughts on “HOTPANTS™: An update

  1. It’s not what it says on the scales, it’s the direction they are going in that counts! I think it’s great you have lost 1lb without doing anything at all! With me, it’s always the other way 🙂

    • Thank you, I think maybe I have unrealistic expectations of becoming Elle Macphereson-esque overnight!! Unlikely. Yes, at least I’m going in the right direction. Might buy a Davina DVD to do at home too I hear it’s pretty good. How’s the gym going for you?

      • The Davina DVD is very good! Gym is going well – lost 2lb last week but for the effort I put in for a measly 2lb, maybe I’d be better off with the hotpants! I like going though, gets me out of the house doing something that isn’t eating or drinking! I hopped on the scales this morning and it said 8st 9lb (obviously they are BROKEN) but it made me so happy that I will never throw them out now. EVER.

      • Right, I’m ordering the DVD today! Well done on losing 2lbs, that’s great. I know what you mean though, when you don’t exercise like ever (like me) and then you put some effort in you expect to have lost half a stone in a week… life is so cruel. Don’t imagine the scales are broken, the scales never lie… congrats on being 8st 9lb – I haven’t been that weight since I was 19 and at university…. sigh….

  2. Errrr, me neither! Not even when I was 19 probably!

    But I am going with your theory, if only for today, this can be my new guilty pleasure.

I love comments, so make my day!

