This week I’m loving (special fashion edition!!)…

A very special “This week I’m loving…” feature on the blog this week, devoted to… FASHION daaahling, mwah!

Last week I was privileged enough to be invited to the AW11 Shopping & Wine Tasting Evening at Feather & Stitch; a super-cute Richmond boutique that has to die for clothes all stylishly nestling amongst its rails.

Feather & Stitch, 16 King Street, Richmond

After dunking Richmond Baby in the bath, giving her her bottle, then putting her to bed, Granny and Granddad took-up babysitting duties while I got ready in 15 minutes flat, ransacking my wardrobe to find something acceptable to wear and settling on a pair of default black leggings, silk printed top/dress, and light taupe coat that I’d bought in Comptoir des Cottoniers in Paris a few years ago (when I was a bit fashion…).  I accessorised with Stella & Dot Vintage Twist Bracelet (see below) – I’m all about the Stella & Dot these days – and nude heels from Russell & Bromley.  Feeling marginally presentable, I hot-footed it to the boutique for a bit of night shopping.  Surely the best kind of shopping, no?!

Stella & Dot Vintage Twist Bracelet

The evening was hosted by Feather & Stitch boutique owners Fi and Fleur, to celebrate the new AW11 collection in store, with the opportunity to have an exclusive preview of gorgeous pieces from brands such as Tucker (whimsical printed silk blouses); By Malene Birger (elegant designs with a modern twist); Rachel Pally (easy and elegant classic silhouettes that are favoured by Hollywood’s elite); and hot London leather brand Muubaa, to name but a few.

Ooooh it was all so delicious, so delicious in fact that I never even got around to doing the wine tasting bit, that’s how absorbed I was in exploring the wonderful selection of tantalising pieces from exclusive labels.  This was no ordinary high-street experience. Here is this little corner of Richmond, you could touch and stroke and try on beautiful autumn/winter knits from labels such as American Vintage and 360 Sweater; go all oooh-la-la over dresses by Vanessa Bruno Athé; and sigh-deeply with pleasure and pain in equal measure at the oh-so-beautiful(-but-oh-so-expensive) blouses by Tucker: I want want want!!

With my return to work looming – well, January 2012, it’s good to start mentally preparing right?! – my mind turned to the rather desperate state of my wardrobe.  Let’s just say, Gok would have a field-day, sigh.  Right, I thought, it’s time to start building the perfect return-to-work clothing collection, which will help me feel confident and excited about getting back in the rat-race.  After all, I can’t turn up to work in my aforementioned default leggings, which are sometimes smeared with baby sick or carrot I’ll be honest, so carpe diem I thought and I grabbed some items and headed to the changing rooms.

Oooooh it was fun.  Oooooh it felt good.  The beginning of the return of my fashion mojo. It felt really good.  I bought three delicious items that are stylish, a bit sexy, and even – if I can put my mum hat on here for a moment – versatile and practical enough to take me from office wear to going out on the town wear (should the latter ever happen again…). Here’s what I bought:

Vanessa Bruno Athe black lace embellished silk dress

This Vanessa Bruno Athe dress is silk, with embellished lace shoulders (the photo doesn’t do it justice), which is super flattering and totally gorgeous.  It’ll be the perfect wear anywhere (well, apart from maybe to Gymboree…) dress that’ll become a firm wardrobe favourite I just know it.

Brisa Blouse - By Malene Birger

A feminine military-style eggshell silk blouse from By Malene Birger, which hangs beautifully and is going to work brilliantly tucked into jeans worn with heels; great for the office, great for afterwork drinks, just generally great.

Black Harem Pants - By Malene Birger

Sadly there’s no chance on earth that I’ll get to look like the woman above, but these black harem pants from By Malene Birger are again really flattering and comfortable but stylish too.  They’ll be a great return-to-work wardrobe item but I’m certain I’ll get a lot of wear out of them well before then.

I finished off my evening of shopping with a lovely manicure courtesy of Paris Moses, a Richmond beauty salon who were filing and polishing on the night.  So as I sipped my wine and had my nails painted a beautiful deep plum colour, I started to plan my next shopping trip to Feather & Stitch… I simply MUST have one of their Lola Rose scarves, super-soft and made from 100% natural wool or 100% modal (a textile made from spun Beechwood).  They feel incredible and the patterns are cute cute cute.  My only problem is trying to decide between…

Pink Rabbits

Or…

Grey Butterflies

Would it be so wrong to buy both….?

I skipped happily home (well, sort of skipped, I’d been wearing the heels for a while by that point so in reality it was probably more of a limp) swinging my beautiful pink Feather & Stitch bag, filled with my purchases and pondering my first opportunities to wear them out and about.  They are now hanging in my wardrobe looking gorgeous, waiting for the right moment to break out!

If you fancy a piece of the Feather & Stitch action then good news, get yourself down to the boutique – browse online first if you want to go prepared! – and from now until 12th October 2011 the lovely Fi & Fleur are offering 10% off any full price item to readers of Richmond Mummy.  Just mention the code “Richmond Mummy” at the till to claim your discount.  I know, I know, I’m too good to you.  Now go forth and shop, your fashion mojo deserves it!

PS.  Richmond Daddy, if you’re reading this, hope you’re not having a heart attack? the good news is that I got a special discount on the night of the shopping party, so really the clothes were a snip, honest, no really, honestly…. well, at least I’m going back to work… that’ll help pay for my working wardrobe now won’t it? (there’s an irony in there somewhere…).

Feather & Stitch, 16 King Street, Richmond & 8 Elystan Street, Chelsea 

http://www.featherandstitch.com/index.htm

4 thoughts on “This week I’m loving (special fashion edition!!)…

I love comments, so make my day!

