Mummy’s spa on the speed dial…

The eagle-eyed amongst you may have noticed that I have been a bit quiet on here lately. After a National Blog Post Month inspired post a day frenzy, which lasted 16 days, I collapsed in a heap with bloggy-burnout and decided that posting every day wasn’t for me… I decided to focus on quality rather than quantity… that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!  Anyway, after a brief hiatus, I have felt sufficiently blog rested to come back at it again and blog once more.  Good luck to all those still going with #NaBloPoMo – last day tomorrow! (I bet you’re counting the minutes!) – I take my hat off to you!

So, what have I been up to since taking it easy on the blog? – well, I haven’t just been lying around half-naked, listening to twinkly music and inhaling the sweet smell of my Malene Birger fig scented candle while someone administers me a deeply relaxing stress relief massage in the comfort of my own dining room… Oh, actually, I tell a lie, that’s EXACTLY what I’ve been doing… well, just the once, but I can tell you now, it’s going to happen again – that much I know for sure!

Yes, last week I was very privileged to be given the chance to sample the services of Blossom & Jasmine; a luxurious at home beauty and massage service that operates across the UK.  “A spa on speed dial” is what Blossom & Jasmine is all about and they offer dedicated mobile beauty and massage services that cover every aspect of beauty treatments from manis and pedis through to aromatherapy massage or waxing.  All in the comfort of your own home.

Now, I have always been a fan of beauty treatments, but since becoming a mum they have gone by the wayside.  Not least because it’s tricky to find the time to go to a salon/spa when you have a little one in tow and then, come the evenings, when the bubba is in bed and the other half is home, well, most places are shut… which is why this is a brilliant service for mums (and maybe dads?!) everywhere!  You get the little angel in bed, pour yourself a glass of wine, and the next thing you know your therapist is there to pamper you in your pyjamas before you fall into bed (not with your therapist, just to be clear, you fall into bed alone, or with your usual partner, it’s not THAT kind of at home service…).

And so it was last Thursday, that I had “one of those days”.  My usual beautifully well-behaved little bubba had a change in personality… she was, quite frankly, being a bit of a pain in the proverbial.  She has recently discovered the art of crawling and on this particular day, she was not content unless she was permanently on the floor exploring every nook and cranny of the house on her hands and knees.  This proved for an exhausting day, as I tried to prevent her from drowning in the cat fountain, bashing her head off the skirting boards, impaling herself on a piece of wood from the firewood basket by the fire… yes, we have a job to do to baby-proof the house, that much is now evident.  The frustrating thing was that periodically during the day she was also getting quite upset if she was on the floor so wanted to be picked up a lot and danced with… so the day entailed lots of picking up, putting down, chasing about, preventing accidents, whingeing and crying, along with the usual nappy changing, washing, feeding, bathing, singing, etc etc etc.  Suffice as to say it was unsurprising that by the end of the day I looked like this…

A difficult day (a bad hair day)

If ever there was a day when I was in need of a stress relief massage (the service I had chosen to trial), last Thursday was that day.  And so at around 8.30pm, the lovely Carly arrived with her massage bed and her gorgeous smelling massage oils and before I knew it I was lying half-naked (modesty preserved by fluffy towels you understand) on the massage bed, lights down low, twinkly music on, candle burning, cares of the day drifting away, as the massage began.

Aaaaaaah it was heavenly!  So so so relaxing.  The cat occasionally charging about through the room and scratching the dining room chairs to buggery during his nightly mad 15-minutes made it occasionally less relaxing than it could have been, but it was really just what I needed and I felt like a new woman afterwards.  And what was even better was the fact that I didn’t then need to put on my clothes and walk or drive home, nope, Carly packed up and waved goodbye, and I simply staggered in a blissful daze – hair standing on end the result of the head massage/massage oil combo – up the stairs and fell into bed, for what was one of the best night’s sleeps I’ve had in aaaaages.   Aaaaaah 🙂

I will definitely be using the services of Blossom & Jasmine again and would highly recommend them to all you girls out there who struggle to find the time to squeeze in a bit of much needed pampering.  You simply call 08452695937 to book and they allocate the therapist in your area whose expertise is required.  You can take a full look at all they do on their website or follow them on Twitter – @blossomnjasmine

I’m off to start planning my next treatment!

7 thoughts on “Mummy’s spa on the speed dial…

  1. Just finished 30 days blogging and determined to have a day off I am wandering around slightly listlessly wondering what to do with myself – well since a full morning of meetings and appointments ended at 3. Came to check out your new layout – which is lovely and to say what a very cute baby you have now off to do some housework I think! What a shock!

    • Thanks for your lovely comment. Firstly, can I just say, well done on surviving NaBloPoMo, I threw in the towel at day 16 and collapsed in a heap – I praise you for completing the month! Secondly, can I just say, that one good thing I found I got out of NaBloPoMo was discovering great new blogs like yours 🙂 Thirdly, I must say, that the lovely Liz at Violet Posy is responsible for creating my super duper new layout out, I love it! And finally… yes Richmond Baby is a cutie – but of course I’m biased!!

  2. LOL! I had to chuckle both at your comment on my blog and the beginning of this post–I too just threw my hands up in the air over the NaBlahBlahBlah! I think I’m still recovering from spending so much time blogging. But what luck to have a massage to help you recover!! Even with the cat. 😉

    • hahaha yes the cat did add a certain element of distraction but the massage was lovely and very much needed – particularly after all that nablahblahblah as you put it, hee hee! you’re right, it really almost put me off blogging altogether it was just too intense! anyway one good thing to come out of it was discovering new blogs and bloggy friends 🙂

I love comments, so make my day!

