Back to work

So, as anyone following me here and/or on Twitter will know, today was my first day back at work post maternity leave.  Thanks to everyone who sent their best wishes 🙂

I had a joyous full year off, which I enjoyed beyond measure, but as the old adage goes, all good things must indeed come to an end.  And end, sadly, my maternity leave just did.  Anyway, rather selfishly the 3rd January finally came around and I found myself getting up and ready to go to work for the first time in 353 days…!

I think the key to success, or at least one of the keys, in going back to work, is to be super organised.  So after much procrastinating and general faffing about, I finally got Richmond Baby’s little bag packed with two sets of spare clothes, her little beaker for drinks, two sterilised dummies, her sleeping bag for daytime naps, and her favourite little toy dog.  I also took a moment to type what can only be described as “briefing document” (back in work mode already it seems), to outline Allegra’s usual daily routine.  Well, I thought it would be useful for her nursery to feel fully up-to-speed on her schedule.  Ahem.  Am sure they hate me already… Anyway, having sorted things out for RB for the morning, I then planned my own clothes for the following day before falling wearily into bed, hoping to be able to get to sleep and hoping also for an uninterrupted night’s sleep.

Thankfully RB slept soundly all night and the first I heard of her was at around 6.15am when I caught the sound of her chattering over the baby monitor, which roused me from my snoozing and (gladly) interrupted a weird dream I was having about being kidnapped by an ex-boyfriend, who was in the process of stabbing me and then burying me alive in a flower-bed.  I swear I could actually feel gravel and mud being thrown over me.  Weird? yes.  Disturbing? most definitely.  A pre-returning-to-work anxiety dream per chance? quite possibly…. Anyway, the least said about that, probably the better.

In order to help things run more smoothly on this, the first day of work/nursery, Richmond Daddy had arranged to work from home.  So between the two of us, we managed to get up, showered, dressed, give RB a bottle of milk, get her washed and dressed, and leave the house by 8am.  I also managed to make time for some weeping pre 8am… yes, it was hard to say goodbye this morning, but I guess I always knew it would be.  Thankfully Richmond Daddy brought RB into nursery and so I was spared the sight of her being a bit weepy when she was first dropped off, but later reports confirmed that once she’d started tucking into her toast for breakfast she soon cheered up and then went on to have a very good day of playing and snoozing and eating.  In fact, her “daily diary” reports that…

“Allegra really enjoyed her first long day at the nursery.  She played with her friends, explored different toys and shapes, textures.  She played with water and sand.” – too cute!

I am also reliably informed by the diary that she ate toast with butter, a banana, most of her fish pasta and all of her apple crumble pudding (well, of course!), then managed to eat most of her beans on toast for tea.  Good girl! 🙂

And what about me?  How did I fare on my first day back?  Well, after the weeping incident I managed to repair my make-up and get myself off to the station to join in the hell that is commuting.  No seat on the train to Waterloo of course, nope, had to squeeze myself into a carriage and spent the journey with my face pressed up against the glass door.  Nice.  Then it was onto the wonderful Northern Line (the least said about that the better… why don’t some people wash in the mornings?!) to make the final journey to the office.  On arrival at work it was lovely catching up with people and then before I knew it I was plunged into a whirlwind of briefing meetings and handover catch ups and the like, which did a good job of making the day pass in a bit of a blur and so before I knew it, home-time had rolled around!

I managed to make it home for 6.30pm, which is pretty good going, and as I came through the door, there was Richmond Baby happily playing with Richmond Daddy.  She beamed a big smile at me then pointed at stuff in earnest saying “duh” “dur” “duh” – she already seemed to have grown-up overnight and as I scooped her up for a cuddle and lots of kisses, she indulged me for a bit before wriggling her way back down to the floor and carrying on with her busy busy busy schedule of playing.  She was on great form, chattering away, playing happily, but I don’t know if it was my imagination, she seemed to have changed a fair bit even just in that one day I’d spent away from her… hmmm… odd.

But seeing her so happy and content, made me feel like overall the day had gone well and has left me in a positive place on day one.

I gave her some dinner, then it was bath-time and she enjoyed splashing about, then she had her bottle, a bedtime story, and around 8pm, after lots of yawning and rolling about in her cot, with me singing Twinkle, Twinkle, she crashed out and has been sleeping peacefully ever since.

So, maybe this being back at work thing can work out okay.  Here’s hoping…

16 thoughts on “Back to work

  1. Ah glad it went well! It can be a mare trying to get organised and get out the house (especially when there are 3 little ones!!!) but my kids absolutely love their days with the childminder!! As much as we’d all rather spend the time with the kids some things just have to be done – and sometimes once they’re done you find out they’re not so bad, they even have their good points!!
    Hope it continues to go well!
    xx

  2. I enjoyed reading your post. I am back to work in four weeks but not sure how I feel about it right now. Glad your first day back wasn’t too traumatic, I hope that continues for you x

    • Thank you 🙂 I hope all goes well for you in a few weeks time, I’m sure it will, it really has been fine coming back and although I hate leaving her, seeing Allegra seemingly enjoying nursery has really helped me feel ok about things. Hopefully it’ll stay that way! I wish you all the best 🙂

    • Hey you, thx for your lovely comment – day two also went fine. Work is busy but that’s good as the day flies, you’re right – once I’m there, I’m fine, it’s just hard to say goodbye in the morning, but it helps Allegra seems to be enjoying nursery so far, so hopefully it’ll stay that way! Xx

  3. Hi RM! Are you reading this at your desk… 😉

    I am so pleased it went so well and RB enjoyed nursery. I think you will all be just fine and weekends will become even more precious to you.

    Enjoy enjoy enjoy (and think of the money)
    xx

    • Hahaha ummm yes… Thank you, yes so far so good – hopefully it’ll continue that way and yes, am really looking forward to the weekends (which start for me tomorrow, yay! hooray for Fridays off!!) 🙂

  4. Glad to hear that it went well. It’s a really tough transition for everyone but it does get easier with time, and you will at some point get to the office with your mascara intact. It took me a good four months or so to settle back into work, following periods of general resentment at having to sit at a desk all day instead of enjoying the sunshine in the park. I now relish the little freedoms work gives me, like the time to read a book or enjoy a hot cup of tea!

    • Thank you. Yes, it is a bit of a tough transition, but generally I’m enjoying being back at work, just struggling a bit with feeling like I’m missing out on Allegra by not spending more time with her, but she seems really happy at nursery so that is making it easier. And yes, it is nice to enjoy a hot cup of tea!

I love comments, so make my day!

