Claudia at 3 weeks

claudia3weeks

Little baby Claudia is 3 weeks old today and I’m pleased to report that she is doing well and continues to be a little angel baby (more or less!).  It’s been a fairly quiet week on the baby front, Claudia has largely spent the last seven days concentrating on getting lots of sleep – particularly during the day time, when she is most happy snoozing in a variety of locations from her morning nap in her moses basket, to a lunchtime/early afternoon sleep in her chair, to resting her weary bones on the sofa propped up on mummy’s special feeding cushion, to lounging in mummy’s arms or on my chest come late afternoon.

When it comes to nighttime sleeping, she’s not doing half bad either.  She is getting into a good little routine and will usually have a last feed around 10.30-11pm and more often than not has been able to then sleep soundly until some time between 1.30-3am, waking for a feed at some point between those hours. But, she’s not been great in settling after that feed and so we’ve had some restless nights post 3am up until around 6am, which has been a little tiring.  However, last night I tried her on a bigger feed at the middle of the night feed and after that she did seem to sleep much more soundly until just before 7am, so perhaps she just wasn’t completely full up and I’m hoping a bigger feed might be the answer.

Sadly, after a bit of soul-searching and a LOT of pain, I have had to throw in the towel with breast-feeding.  After the last few weeks of agonising soreness, mastitis, cracked/bleeding nipples, baby losing weight rather than gaining, and me feeling generally miserable and in constant pain – on top of the ongoing c-section pain – I just couldn’t continue and have sadly had to stop.  Some will no doubt say I should have persevered, but I felt I gave it as good a shot as I could in the circumstances and when I got to the point where I felt truly awful and miserable, and I couldn’t even cuddle my baby girl or Richmond Toddler without  crying out in pain, I decided enough was enough.

So, we’re now fully bottle feeding and I’m pleased to report that Claudia is thriving and putting on weight and is content, and so is her mamma:  I now feel like I can properly enjoy my baby girl and be a happy, energetic (mostly!) mummy to my two gorgeous girls – as opposed to struggling to get out of bed and certainly to get dressed every day, as has been the case for the best part of the last two or so weeks.

Baby Claudia still seems pretty tiny to me, I think because her sister started out life so big (at 9lbs 10) so in comparison, she seems quite diddy.  I was meant to go get her weighed this week, but haven’t quite got around to it yet, so am not sure quite what she’s put on this past week but she certainly looks to be filling out and is drinking her milk well and seems content, so I take that as a good sign!

She does seem to be struggling a bit with trapped wind, poor little bubba, so we have started on the Infacol and that seems to help, but sometimes a little after a feed she will suddenly cry out and seem quite distressed, and then a pop-pop-pop from the bottom area will ring out and then she seems much better.  Hopefully persevering with the Infacol will help continue to improve things, so she doesn’t continue to suffer.

Claudia is still NOT a fan of nappy changes or of clothing changes and sometimes gets herself in such a state crying during one or the other of these that I find myself saying “breathe, breathe!!” to her as she goes purple with rage and seems to hold her breath for an unfeasible amount of time before really letting rip with the wailing!  What makes me kind of chuckle is that when she’s really going for it on the crying front during a nappy or outfit change is that she sounds a bit like a lamb bleating, it is strangely quite cute!

The flaky skin on her hands, legs, and feet seems to be gradually going now – we’ve been doing lots of moisturising with special baby balm each day – and she’s looking very smooth and soft there now.  Her head and her face have the softest, softest baby skin I’ve ever felt and I love to stroke her little head to soothe and comfort her, she seems to love it too and it helps her drift off to sleep.

Claudia and I have been enjoying lots of early morning snuggles and snoozes in mummy and daddy’s bed this past week.  Sometimes it’s been hard co-sleeping like this (there’s been the odd occasion where I’ve had to take her into our bed in the middle of the night as she just wouldn’t settle in her basket), I’d generally prefer her to be sleeping in her moses basket as I worry I might squish her and I don’t get the best quality sleep if she’s snoozing in the crook of my arm, but on the other hand it is lovely to be so close to her and hear her little breath close to my face, feel her little hands against me, and I’m cherishing these special moments during the newborn days and weeks as I know they fly by so fast.

We’ve not done all that much this week, but we’ve had a few visitors – Nonna & Nonna came for their weekly visit on Monday and enjoyed lots of cuddles, as did my friend and her 7-month old little girl, it was lovely to catch up with them all; on Tuesday we went out and about shopping for essential party items for your big sister’s birthday party that we have planned for this Saturday; on Wednesday Granny & Granddad came for their weekly visit and Aunty Susan also visited as she was on half-term from school, Aunty Chrissy also visited after work on Wednesday and marvelled at how much you’d grown and changed already in these past few weeks; and today you were very good for Nonna while mummy went to the hairdressers for a bit of pampering… although you did treat Nonna to a big poo (your first in 24 hours!), which was the first of your nappies that she has had to change!

Today we celebrated your big sister’s 2nd birthday and I chose a Peppa Pig card for you to give her and some Peppa books, which she was very happy about and was excited to get presents from her baby sister, who she loves so very much.  The two of you are getting to know each other more and more and Allegra absolutely adores having you around, as do we all:  you’ve even enjoyed some baths together this week, which have been very cute – although a two person job, so we only do that when daddy is home in time to help!

5 thoughts on “Claudia at 3 weeks

  1. I too breastfed my girls for three weeks and had to stop for exactly the same reasons. Don’t feel guilty in the slightest! You have your daughter the best possible start and you should be proud. It’s hard to think of yourself with a newborn, or to see the bigger picture, but if you feel happy then it was the right decision. Plus she is gorgeous so go you!

    Kate x
    Just Pirouette and Carry On…

  2. Sounds like you’re doing really well! Don’t feel bad about the breastfeeding thing – as long as they eat, who cares how?! I’m too disorganised for bottles so I’m in awe of anyone who can keep on top of the sterilising. Sounds like she’s a good sleeper, too. Long may that last x

  3. Oh my word she is just adorable! I’m so glad to hear that you are both doing so well. A happy mummy is a happy baby, no question about it and it sounds like she is absolutely thriving! Mine never really suffered with wind but my step-sister used and swore by the Dr Brown anti colic bottles so maybe that’s worth a try 🙂

I love comments, so make my day!

