Review: Blurb Photo Books

IMG_2702I love photos.  I may not be that good or that prolific at taking them, but I do love them and I do love looking back through a mound of photos and enjoying the memories that they prompt.  Since we’ve all gone digital though, I find that I rarely get around to printing photos off and framing them and certainly putting pictures in an album is a thing of the past in our household, which is a shame because then so many photos just get stored on the computer and then largely forgotten about instead of being seen and enjoyed regularly.

So when Blurb Photo Books offered me the chance to make a photo book via their website, I jumped at the chance, seeing it as an opportunity to get some of my favourite family pics preserved in a format that I could enjoy again and again without having to fire up the laptop to browse through them.

Now, I’m not the most techie of people, but even I found the Blurb website super easy to navigate and was surprised at just how simple it was to create my photo book.  There are three different book making tools, I went for the easiest one (as I said, I am NOT the most techie of people!), which is Bookify™:  that gives you professionally designed layouts to choose from and you can create instant photo books by syncing up to Facebook, Instagram, or just by uploading a selection of pics from your computer onto the site, which is what I did.  You can also create an ebook and convert it for the iPad®.  If you don’t fancy using one of the pre-designed layouts, there are other Blurb options that give you the freedom to create your own from scratch.

I went for a 20-page, standard landscape (25x20cm) photo book and was able to plan the order of the photos, decide on how they would be laid out on each page – I went for either the photos filling the page or having a simple white border – and then I chose a hardback cover, in blue.  I was also able to select the type of paper (premium) and finish (lustre), as well as choosing light grey end sheets, front and back, which gave it a really smart and professional overall look.

IMG_2699

Creating the photo book was quick and simple and I also opted to download the book in PDF format to have on my laptop (which costs extra, but only added £2.49 to the overall price).  The photo book itself, based on the spec I selected, came in at a total cost of £24.94 and there was a £4.99 shipping/handling charge.  It arrived in super quick time, within a few days, and I was really really happy with the results:  a gorgeous book – I was very impressed with the quality and how the photos had come out – of the professional photos we had done as a family of three at the end of last year, to cherish for years to come.

IMG_2700

Disclosure:  I was given a £35 voucher by Blurb to put their website to the test and create a photo book.  All opinions of my experience and my views of the finished product are my own and are honest.

3 thoughts on “Review: Blurb Photo Books

I love comments, so make my day!

