A party in a box for mum’s birthday

What could be nicer than receiving a veritable party in a box for your birthday? Well, receiving a veritable party that includes a delicious cake, in a box, for your birthday.  A cake in a box, what’s not to love?!  And that’s exactly what I was able to gift my mum a few weeks back, for her birthday, courtesy of the rather fabulous Baker Days, who make quality personalised cakes for all occasions.

I was offered the chance to put Baker Days “letterbox cakes” to the test and well, frankly I didn’t need to be asked twice.  I mean, reviewing cake, it’s a hard job but someone’s gotta do it right?  So here’s the dealio with a letterbox cake, it’s basically a small but perfectly formed cake that can arrive through the post, like a super-delicious and totally edible greeting card.  Genius!

My mum celebrated her birthday mid April (happy birthday again Mum, you’re the best – and oh, we really do need to sort out your birthday present some time soon!) and I ordered her a gluten and wheat free letterbox cake, with a personalised message.  I chose this rather beautiful Rob Ryan-esque design and I was really pleased to see that the real life cake was as pretty as the picture had been on the website.

bakerdays1

It arrived through the letterbox in its special little tin and box, safe and sound, a couple of days ahead of mum’s birthday and she got a lovely surprise when she opened it up to find it in all its cake-y glory smiling back at her.  Letterbox cakes also come complete with a couple of candles, a party-blower thingy, and three little balloons:  see, a veritable party in a box!

We enjoyed the cake with cups of tea and Allegra had a particularly fun time making the most of the opportunity to play with the balloons and got quite hyper running around the room batting them here and there and learning how to stick them to the wall with the art of creating static!  And there was lots of laughter and party-blower blowing to boot!

balloons

The cake was tasty, I dare say that the double chocolate chip cake or the fruit cake that Baker Days also offers may well have been an even tastier option versus the gluten and wheat free variety that I had to opt for given my mum’s dietary requirements, but even so, it was yummy.

I think the letterbox cake idea is really sweet and a lovely alternative to sending a birthday card.  Okay, granted, it’s a bit pricier than a birthday card – letterbox cakes are between £14.99-£16.99 – but even so, they’re not really that expensive considering you’re getting a delicious cake that is personalised and guaranteed to put a smile on somebody’s face when they open it after it drops through the door and onto their hallway floor.  I would be delighted to receive one, but then who wouldn’t love to have cake coming through their letterbox?  It’s a bit of a no-brainer really isn’t it?

I was given the opportunity to trial Baker Days with a free birthday cake for my mum (I know, what a cheapskate I am eh? but it’s the thought that counts!) in return for writing this review, but all opinions are honest and my own.  The cake really was very pretty and rather yummy too.

CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR ME IN THE FAMILY CATEGORY OF THE BiBs… Ta!!

I have been shortlisted in the FAMILY category for a BritMums Brilliance in Blogging Award 2013 (aka the BiBs)… me!! moi!!! yours truly!!!  I know… I’m as surprised as you, trust me.  But honestly, I’m chuffed and really honoured to be shortlisted.  If you’d like to vote for me, in the FAMILY category, no pressure or nowt, but if you fancy it and have 30 seconds to spare, then click on that there rather subtle link above…. Thanks! x

4 thoughts on “A party in a box for mum’s birthday

I love comments, so make my day!

