Baking Cupcakes for World Baking Day

Today is World Baking Day apparently, who knew?!  So in honour of this very good excuse to make and eat cakes, myself and little Miss Allegra spent some time in the kitchen trying our hand at some cupcakes.  Yum.

IMG_3157Now, what I probably should mention is that we had somewhat of a head-start on the cupcakes or rather a bit of a cheat, as we were armed with Morrisons’ Confetti Cupcake Kit:  pretty much all you need in a box to create the perfect cupcakes, just add 1 egg and 60mls of milk, oh and a bit of butter for the icing is required, and that’s pretty much it.  Everything else is in the box.

Given how baking with my toddler can be a little on the stressful side (she refuses to accept that she can’t eat cake mix no matter how many times I warn her of the dangers of consuming raw egg…!), I’m actually a bit of a fan of these kits as they tend to be straight-forward to use and mean we can get in and out of the baking/kitchen experience fairly speedily!  However, I’ve had mixed results with them and the cakes have never really turned out all that brilliantly.  This was the first time I’d used a kit from Morrisons though, so I approached with an open mind (as I do in all cake situations).

So, we grabbed the box:

IMG_3156

We put the cake mix in a bowl and added an egg and the milk:

IMG_3159

We mixed it up and then we added the confetti sprinkles and mixed those in too.

IMG_3163

We baked them in the oven for 15 minutes, then took them out to cool.  Then we (well, truth be told, I… Allegra had more or less lost interest by this point…) mixed the icing with the butter and then Allegra – assisted by Richmond Daddy – decorated the 6 cupcakes we had baked:

decorating

And then they were done!

IMG_3187

Then we scoffed them after our dinner!  YUM!!

scoffing

Honestly, they were DEEEEEEEE-LICIOUS as Miss Allegra would say (and did).  Light and fluffy, the sponge was gorgeous and the butter icing was really really yummy.  In fact, as a treat I let Allegra oversee the most important part of any cake baking… licking the spoon with the icing on it!

IMG_3180

Happy World Baking Day!

Disclosure:  We were sent a Morrisons’ Home Baking Confetti Cupcake kit (RRP £1.59) for the purposes of this review but all opinions are honest and our own.

IMG_3212

2 thoughts on “Baking Cupcakes for World Baking Day

  1. looks like you and Allegra had a lot of fun baking your cakes and the end results look delicious! How did i not know it was world baking day!!! Me the cake making lover!!! x

    • I know! I had no idea either until Morrisons approached me and to think, the day could have passed me by without me eating cake!! We did have fun – despite the meltdowns from Allegra over me not letting her eat raw cake mix! And they were really tasty, will definitely be stocking up on more of these kits! X

I love comments, so make my day!

