My BritMums Live & A Big Thank-You to Kaleidoscope

Crikey, it’s been just over a week since the blogging extravaganza that was BritMums Live and I’m only just surfacing sufficiently now to write this post.  This is in no small part due to the fact that being away from home for two days, one night (one glorious night!) saw me return to a backlog of “stuff to do” that has kept me running around like a headless chicken for the past seven days.  At least the kids were alive and well and happy when I returned, even if the laundry basket was over-flowing and there was a dirty fork hiding out in Allegra’s playroom… ahem.

Anyway, BritMums Live, how was it? – pretty bloody great it turned out!  So first off, a big thank you to Kaleidoscope, who very kindly sponsored me to go.  It was thanks to them that I was able to attend the biggest and best parent blogger conference in the UK; hang out with some of my favourite bloggy buddies – shout outs to Grenglish, From Fun to Mum, Postcards from Pramstead, More Than Toast, Love Bryony, Mummy Daddy & Me – and meet a whole host of new bloggy buddies – *waves to… HPMcQ and Northern Mum… in fact, too many people to mention here, but that’s really what I LOVED about BritMums 2013 – meeting a whole bunch of utterly fabulous people and laughing until my sides hurt.

RM, Grenglish, HPMcQ

RM, Grenglish, HPMcQ

Yes there were interesting sessions and talks, yes I got some inspiration for my own blog, yes I discovered some new blogs I’d never heard of before and couldn’t believe I’d been missing out on them for this long, but more than anything, it was about the people.  And what struck me over the course of the two days was that I felt part of an incredible community of women/parents.  There was a lot of laughter, there was a lot of tears, it was an emotional rollercoaster and I returned home feeling like I needed a good cry, but above all, I felt really moved by all the inspiring people I’d met and all the stories I’d heard, and the friendships I’d witnessed and experienced.  It’s really hard to put it into words, but when I started this blog just over two years ago, I never thought one of the best things I’d get out of it was building some amazing friendships with others across the country.  But honestly that’s been one of the most priceless things to come out of this little hobby of mine.

I guess I should also mention in this post, the small matter of the TERRIFYING experience that was reading out one of my blog posts during the Bloggers Keynote.  Having been used to giving presentations at work and speaking in front of groups of people, I couldn’t believe how nervous I was.  Honestly I felt totally sick! Thankfully I had the very lovely Grenglish by my side along with new bloggy bestie HPMcQ to hold my hand and stop me from running out the door.

As it turned out, it was fine, I didn’t fall on my face on the way to the stage, I didn’t read out my rather personal post about waxing while pregnant with my skirt tucked into my knickers (I’d worn trousers to avoid that possibility), nor did I experience a Judy Finnigan wardrobe malfunction thank goodness.  I read my post, people very kindly laughed in the right places, and I breathed a sigh of relief when it was all over.  I was bowled over at how lovely everyone was afterwards, with so many lovely comments coming my way (thank-you!), so I left feeling rather proud of myself.  Well done me!  And well done to all my fellow blog post reader-outers, you were fab!

So that’s it – I haven’t really done it full justice, but it was hard to know where to start to sum up a weekend of such epic proportions.  Thank you to everyone who made it so fantastic and thank you again to Kaleidoscope for sending me there:  I had a ball!

Image 4

7 thoughts on “My BritMums Live & A Big Thank-You to Kaleidoscope

  1. It was lovely to see you! Sorry to have missed you reading out that post though. I’m hoping someone will do the decent thing and put it on YouTube for us all to enjoy! xx

  2. Was lovely to spend time with you and you reading your key note was utterly fabulous. It was a great weekend.
    P.S I used to get your posts by email but for some reason I am not getting them so I am a bit behind x

    • Aww thank you, was SO nervous reading it, but was so lovely to get such positive feedback and laughs of course! Also lovely to spend time with you and LL, especially as we usually end up missing each other at these things! Hmm wonder why you’re not getting the posts by email anymore, that’s weird, I on the other hand get your posts in duplicate by email, so I get two of everything you publish – ha ha! 🙂 xx

  3. Pingback: Claudia at 21 & 22 weeks | Richmond Mummy

I love comments, so make my day!

