Birthday tea…

A week ago today it was my birthday.  My 38th birthday – eek!  Luckily, I was treated by Richmond Daddy to a lovely afternoon of enjoying the Mad Hatter’s Afternoon Tea at the very swanky Sanderson Hotel, which helped take my mind off my age momentarily:  well, little cakes and glasses of Champagne are good at doing that right?!

IMG_4226

We enjoyed little sandwiches and savoury and sweet scones, delish, before diving into our array of gorgeous Alice in Wonderland inspired cakes.  The carrot meringue served on a bed of pea shoots was surprising delicious, while the ‘Tick Tock’ traditional Victoria sponge in mini size was a classic favourite.  I particularly enjoyed the ‘Drink Me’ potion, which had 3 different layers of puree/foam and took you on a taste journey from start to finish!  YUM!  All so beautifully presented too and as a BIG fan of the Lewis Carroll classic, I was in heaven.

IMG_4230

Then there was the Melting Mango Cheesecake, A-MAZE-ING! and the Green Tea and White Chocolate Mousse served in a chocolate tea cup, which was the final desert I tried and actually had me beat, so I only managed half the tea cup… I gave it my best shot, honest!

IMG_4225

Oh and if the afternoon tea selection presented at the table wasn’t enough for you, you could also visit a “Jelly Wonderland” – no, not an edible version of a soft play centre, but rather a tray of fruity flavoured jellies that you could help yourself to throughout the afternoon.  Wibble Wobble!

We chatted.  We laughed.  We reminisced about the fact that The Sanderson Hotel was in fact where we had our first proper date and drank rather too many French Martinis, we were both very nervous!

But what is a birthday without birthday cake? – fear not, Richmond Daddy had alerted them to the fact that it was my birthday and the lovely waitress brought over a special cake in honour of the occasion and as she presented it to me she said “would you like me to sing to you?” – a kind offer, but one I passed up on!

IMG_4231

Happy birthday to me (oh and happy birthday to the lovely Sarah from Grenglish, who shares the same birthday day!) and thank you Richmond Daddy for a fun birthday afternoon.

IMG_4238

4 thoughts on “Birthday tea…

I love comments, so make my day!

