Don’t say what say pardon…

Me:  “right, come on Allegra, we need to have lunch then get ready to go to ballet”

A (aged 2.5 years):  “what?”

Me: “don’t say what say pardon”

A:  “what?”

Me: “I said, don’t say what say pardon”

A:  “what did you say before?”

Me:  “I said we need to have lunch then get ready to go to ballet”

A:  *ignores me and carries on reading books*

Me:  “come on, let’s wash your hands before lunch”

A:  “what?”

Me:  “don’t say what, say pardon!”

A:  “what did you say?”

Me:  “I said let’s go wash your hands”

A:  “why?”

Me:  “because we’re going to have lunch”

A:  “what?”

Me:  “DON’T SAY WHAT, SAY PARDON!!!! SAY PARDON!!!!!”

A:  “pardon mummy?”

Me:  “go wash your hands”

A:  “why?”

Me:  “BECAUSE WE’RE GOING TO HAVE LUNCH THEN GO TO BALLET FOR THE LOVE OF GOD GO WASH YOUR HANDS!!!”

A:  “what?” *carries on reading books*

Me:  “AAAAAAAAAHH DO NOT SAY WHAT, SAY….*bangs head against wall*

Sigh.

Should I just let her get away with saying what?!

DSC01312

14 thoughts on “Don’t say what say pardon…

  1. Aw! I would just keep reiterating it but don’t be too stressed out if she doesn’t listen first-time! She’ll get it eventually if you’re just consistent and reiterate regularly.

    I’m now having the joy of literally chasing a 3.5 year old around the house to get him changed in time for school in the mornings because.. it’s oh-so-hilarious-to-run-around-while-mummy-stresses-about-time-keeping!

    • oh my god, I’m saying it like 100 times a day, no word of a lie! poor you, I also have the chasing her around the house thing to contend with but at least I’m not under the time pressure of trying to get to school! ooooh how they “challenge” us! x

  2. OMG I have this a LOT! *sighs* it makes me want to scream out loud!!!!! I am always telling B about this and his new one? Instead of what? well it is “ay?” aaaaaaagh even worse! good luck x

  3. This replicates my conversation with Sebastian on a daily basis. Reassuring to see I’m not the only one tearing my hair out. Bit concerning though…he is four!

  4. Love it! I have the same conversation with my 2.5 year old daugher every day. I have read that negative phrases don’t resonate with kids though. So instead, you could focus only on the positive part of the statement: “Say pardon.” So I have changed tack and am trying this at the mo – with mixed success!

I love comments, so make my day!

