Richmond Mummy Fashion Week #3: Swedish Style from me&i

I recently discovered Swedish fashion brand me&i – I think I may be a bit behind the times! – when I was invited along to a press day to meet some of the team and have a browse of their new Autumn/Winter collections.  The kids range REALLY caught my eye, very cool Swedish style for boys and girls that stands out from the crowd thanks to its eye popping colours and fun, funky designs.

k_135

What I loved about the clothes I saw, was just how fun and contemporary they look and feel, and yet at the same time they have a timeless quality to them, which reassures you that this is not disposable fashion, these are the kind of clothes that can be worn and loved and passed on:  an important factor now I have two little girls to clothe and keep looking fabulous!

From retro caravans to happy squirrels, the collection is a great mix of prints and colours that result in a stylish, high quality, practical collection for babies and children aged up to 14 years.  The new collection features regular characters such as the hamster Smulan (Swedish for little crumb) and me&i’s playful pirate patch, alongside new motifs including sunflowers and waves, police cars and rabbits.  Here are some of my favourite pieces spotted on the day:

meandi

From top left, clockwise… Pants with Rabbit in Pocket (Claudia would look adorable in these!); Dress Princess (very cute for a princess-in-waiting!); Crown Puffy Blouse; and one of my real favourites, the Smulan Tunic (adorable and in super soft velour fabric).

The very lovely people at me&i were generous enough to gift Allegra with the Waves & Sunflower Tunic from the new collection: an adorable tunic in 95% cotton, with elastic at the neck and cuffs, in a lovely A-line design with a wave print and sunflower sewn on at the bottom.  Allegra was VERY happy with her new dress and needed no persuading to put it on at once – she also chose to accessorise with bright green polka-dot hairband, and Disney Princesses necklace and matching charm bracelet (ahem…):

IMG_4976

We also took to the new local Whole Foods Market in Richmond to stage an impromptu photo-shoot in amongst the very lovely new store, to really show off the dress – we paired it with some leggings when we ventured outside as it was a bit of a chilly day:

IMG_4989

The dress really fitted Allegra beautifully and hung just perfectly on her.  It was really flattering and she was comfortable in it all day doing everything from rolling about on the floor playing, to riding on the buggy-board to the shops, to browsing the supermarket and having lunch.  It really made for the perfect little girl day-dress.

IMG_4996

Apart from the fact that I loved how Allegra looked in this bold and striking dress, which has a gorgeous print and really made her stand-out in the busy crowds of Whole Foods that’s for sure (which was handy!), I was really impressed by the quality of the fabric of this me&i dress.  While organic cotton is used in the me&i baby range, the majority of the children’s ranges uses other Oeko-Tex approved fabrics – the world’s leading label for textiles tested for harmful substances that could irritate young skin.

This dress feels soft and stretchy, comfortable for her to wear and lovely against her skin, and I imagine it will wash really well too.  In fact, me&i pride themselves on the fact that they produce clothes that are durable enough to be passed on long after the original owner has grown out of them!

me&i was founded in 2004 by Susan Engvall and Helen Nyrell, working from the kitchen table at their homes in Barsebäck, Sweden.  Today, me&i’s range is available exclusively through the company’s dedicated network of representatives – all mums themselves – who sell through home parties across the UK.  You can buy direct or socially with friends, visit the me&i website for more information and stay up-to-date with me&iUK news by following @me&iUK on twitter and/or me&i UK on facebook.

Disclosure:  We were given a me&i dress for the purposes of this review, but all opinions are honest and our own.

2 thoughts on “Richmond Mummy Fashion Week #3: Swedish Style from me&i

  1. Pingback: Review & Competition: me&i Spring/Summer 2014 Collection | Richmond Mummy

I love comments, so make my day!

