Red lipstick

On packing my weekend bag for our Parisian get-away a few weekends past, I decided to go classic and somewhat traditional with my holiday wardrobe: a Breton-stripped cashmere jumper; a bright orangey-red knitted dress to wear with heels for dinner; skinny jeans worn tucked in to knee-high black boots; a big and beautifully patterned scarf to keep out the March-chill; and of course the essential component for any Paris holiday wardrobe – red lipstick!

IMG_6397

Perhaps it was a desire to blend in with the beautiful locals, I’m not sure, but there is something unfailingly-French about wearing red lipstick.  Mine was a matt-red, full-bodied but not flashy number from Clinique – I’d love to tell you the name of it, but annoyingly it doesn’t seem to have it on the bottom of the stick anymore – and I wore it both day and night.  For anyone who knows me and knows my laziness when it comes to make-up, wearing lipstick day and night is somewhat of a big deal for me!  But, I was glad I did, for those French ladies are big into red lipstick and I spotted it on women everywhere!

From a cartoon-pop of pillar-box red to a juicy-cherry-red hue and even a subtle but statement-making almost burgundy, red lipstick was EVERYWHERE!

Unable to take photographic evidence (without causing alarm!) of my best red lipstick spots to share with you, I have had to take to Pinterest instead to collate some of my favourite red lipstick looks inspired by Paris.  Ooh la la, enjoy!

4750b786f6a2d6e9d3f0ef4aa187c4e1

 

33d8a2623f7e2b8c9f35d73ff6dc4674

 

8531fa52dc8f041ef514579abfbec801

133ed169c87e9d9c31003b8b69bf879b

 

6d53e35aae90c0acbf9bb23e77e3c197

7a0c83d8503fa1b08ca296640c97523f

 

b25a0f81453aa4f2fed4b789cd08fdb0

Photos sourced on Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “Red lipstick

  1. You know I swear by red lips-my Mum always says it gives you that flash of confidence and she’s right-the *cough lesser known Alexa Chung believes it hides tiredness-adore this post and you looks beautiful my friend, love your style. Come link up to #fashionfriday on style blog with this post if you fancy!

I love comments, so make my day!

