A shopping spree at London Designer Outlet

A few weeks ago, I was invited down to the London Designer Outlet in Wembley, to check the place out and go on a bit of a shopping spree.  After considering the invitation for all of about 30 seconds, I said yes please and booked the date into my diary!

Despite living in South West London for some years now, I must confess I had never heard of the London Designer Outlet.  Situated just by Wembley Park, it is home to over 35 outlets – some of the best high street brands, shoe and sportswear outlets at always up to 70% off – and over 20 restaurants and coffee shops.  Plus there’s a Cineworld 9-screen cinema and a fab kids Playpark and when you spend more than £30 on your shopping, you can even park for free (except on match days).

I left the girls at home with Richmond Daddy to take up the LDO’s Kid’s Clothing Challenge:  £100 to spend in two hours on a fab kids’ outfit.  It was a tough gig (not!) but I took a deep breath and dived straight in.  Now when it comes to shopping, I’m afraid I am one of those slightly annoying people who likes to look in every shop, to see what there is of course, before I buy anything and then go all the way back to the beginning again to start my purchasing.  So with the money burning a hole in my pocket, I set off in the direction of GAP Outlet and H&M – always a good place to begin when it comes to kids’ clothes shopping, right?

IMG_7297

Trying hard to ignore all the things I was tempted to indulge in for myself, I set myself an additional challenge to see if I could make my £100 stretch to buy both girls new outfits and after much browsing and rummaging, scouring and selecting, I am pleased to say… I did it!  So, here’s how I spend it:

IMG_7392

Claudia:

Sleeveless T-Shirt and Cotton Denim Shorts – Baby Gap.  Trainers – Sketchers

LDO

Allegra:

Sleeveless T-Shit, Pink Leggings and Denim Jacket – Baby Gap.  Little Mermaid Hair Bobble & Clip Set – H&M

Both girls got a pair of these (slightly garish but fun!) trainers from Sketchers, which were already hugely reduced but then also offering a buy one get a second at 30% further reduction offer, so I got them a matching pair:  a real bargain!

IMG_7303

They even light up/sparkle on the toes when they walk!

Claudia also got a pair of black and white harlequin print leggings from H&M that cost about £2.99 and were the perfect purchase ahead of a circus themed party we were going to the next day – very fitting!  You can just about see them peeking out from under her dress in this pic…

IMG_7310

So, allow me to recap, £100 bought me:  two sleeveless T-shirts, cotton denim shorts, leggings and a denim jacket from Baby Gap; leggings and hair accessories from H&M; and two pairs of trainers from Sketchers.  Pretty good going I think you’ll agree?!

What I liked about LDO is that it isn’t a huge sprawling shopping centre.  You could totally spend a fun afternoon there with the kids thanks to the great Playpark area that would keep any little ones entertained with Dad while Mum hits the shops and there’s loads of restaurants to choose from for a bite to eat before you round off your visit with a trip to the on-site cinema.  Perfect.

Definitely worth a visit.

IMG_7306

If you’re driving to London Designer Outlet, pop HA9 0WS into your SatNav and you’re away.  If you’re travelling by public transport, nearest stations are within a 10 minute walk away – Wembley Park, Wembley Central or Wembley Stadium.  For more information visit http://www.london-designer-outlet.com

I was given £100 to shop at LDO in exchange for this blog post review but all opinions are honest and my own.

2 thoughts on “A shopping spree at London Designer Outlet

  1. Oh wow what an offer and gorgeous finds! Loving your blog’s new look too although equally loved it before-you have great style! Thanks for linking up to #fashionfriday

I love comments, so make my day!

