Girls: it’s complicated

I have two daughters.  I am one of two sisters.  So girls is my lot.  I am very happy with my lot.  Very very happy.  Of course I have nothing to compare it to, but still… I feel blessed and very happy.  But girls… they can be complicated, right?  I mean, I should know… I am one.  But who knew just how early the “complicated” can start?!  I’m not sure I was prepared for that….

At three years and almost four months old, Allegra is already complicated.

Gorgeous, funny, inquisitive (very inquisitive!), challenging, loving, smart, full of energy and so much more.

And complicated.

Dinner must be served on her orange plate, with Disney Princess cutlery.

Bananas must be handed over unpeeled, for her to “open” – even though I can count to 5 and by which point, right on cue, she’ll be saying “you just start me off mummy and then I’ll peel it”.

Jeans are NEVER appropriate or welcome attire.  Nor trousers with buttons at the waist.

Knickers must always have Princesses on them – but no, not Jasmine.  Jasmine always languishes in the bottom of the underwear draw, neglected.

There are certain questions that need answering and ideally just as Mummy is looking hot and flustered and trying to leave the house, such as why does my body have bones? Or, why is my friend Lillian’s hair red and my hair isn’t and can I have red hair tomorrow?

Say yes, when you mean no.  Oh and say no, when really you mean yes.  That’s a good one.

It has to be pink.  Whether it’s a sticker on your name badge and/or a shaky-egg at music class, a Yo-Yo snack, or a pair of leggings selected for the day ahead.  It has to be pink, or purple.  Either that or we’re all going to hell in a hand-cart…

Allegra, you are three years and almost four months old and you are the most bonkers but brilliant daughter I could have wished for.  You madden me daily with your stubbornness and the fact that I have to ask you approximately 4,356 times in the morning to PUT YOUR SHOES ON so we can leave the house.  But my god, I love you.  I love the bones of you – yes, the bones in your body, the ones there to keep you from falling over and crumpling into a heap by the way.  My beautiful, complicated girl – growing up so fast.  I couldn’t be prouder of you if I tried, love Mummy xoxo

IMG_7515

 

3 thoughts on “Girls: it’s complicated

  1. They look like they’re doing a great job! I have a fight with my two and a half year old, she tends to eat the toothpaste, and then motlsy brush her tongue, but she’s fiercely independant and doesn’t like mummy to help. I might start doing it while she’s asleep !!

I love comments, so make my day!

