A Norfolk Staycation

Last week we upped sticks from Richmond and drove three hours East to arrive at our holiday home on the Norfolk Broads for a family break.  It was just the four of us, me and Richmond Daddy and our two littles, and we were oh-so-lucky with the weather, which shone brightly for us the entire week!  It rained the day we arrived and the day we left, but every day in between was bright, warm sunshine – perfect for enjoying a very British vacation.

We stayed in one of the self-catering pine lodges at Clippesby Hall, which turned out to be a great base from which to explore the area.  It was great that both the girls were able to have their own room – it made bedtimes A LOT easier than in the past when they’ve shared (#totalnightmare) – and the lodges were spacious enough for them to have a run around and a play (we brought some of our toys from home) when we weren’t out on holiday adventures.  My one panic moment came when I realised that they didn’t have WiFi and so all my good intentions of spending a week catching up on my blogging were soon put to one side.  But, I must admit, it was probably a good opportunity to switch off from everything and enjoy some much needed relaxation time as a family.

I’m going to write up a few different posts about what we got up to Norfolk, but in the meantime – here are a few of my very favourite snaps from our very lovely staycation:

A rare photo of me and both girls all looking at the camera!

A rare photo of me and both girls all looking at the camera!

My giggly littlest-little who was charming the pants off everyone she met!

My giggly littlest-little who was charming the pants off everyone she met!

"Let's take a selfie mummy" - I kid you not, how the hell does a 3 year old know what a selfie is?!

“Let’s take a selfie mummy” – I kid you not, how the hell does a 3 year old know what a selfie is?!

Sometimes, not everyone is willing to say "cheese"!

Sometimes, not everyone is willing to say “cheese”!

Heading down the pier, bucket and spade in hand, on a British seaside holiday

Heading down the pier, bucket and spade in hand, on a British seaside holiday

Just looking at these is making me long to be back on holiday, especially hearing the rain beating down on my roof as I type! Still, we have made lots of memories and I’ll enjoy reflecting back on them as I go through our pics and I share some of our adventures from Norfolk over the next week or so.

Happy Holidays xoxo

5 thoughts on “A Norfolk Staycation

  1. I’m recognising Cromer Pier and the bucket and spade from the kids’ meals at restaurant at the top of the cliff there. We took our girls (1 and 4) to stay in Overstrand for a week back in May – there’s so much to do in that little corner of Norfolk I can’t help but think we’ll be back again soon.

  2. Pingback: Things to do in Norfolk when you’re 1 and 3: A day out on The Broads | Richmond Mummy

I love comments, so make my day!

